Thursday, April 2, 2009

What's The Call Thursday



Today's scenario: Again, this one happened this year.

No outs and runner on 3rd. The pitcher from the stretch comes set and the runner takes off for home. The pitcher steps off and throws home. The batter did not see the pitcher step off the rubber and proceeds to bunt the throw. He bunts the ball fair.

  1. What is the call?
  2. Is the call any different with 2 outs?

Thanks and if you heard me discuss this Monday please wait to post after a few. Thanks

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Say Cheese

Thought I'd share a few pics from the first couple of weeks. Enjoy

Jeff Shelly hard at work

Kasey ( I think) putting the ball in play


Neil Locked in. FYI... Great head height!

Monday, March 30, 2009

Ump Stumper 3/30

So this is a actual situation that happened this season.

Situation goes like this.
Runner on third with no outs. The batter runner swings and hits a bounding ball down the 3rd baseline. The runner steps back on the bag and F5 (third baseman) runs up to field the ball. The batter runner is very fast and F5 decides to let the ball go foul since he will surely not retire the batter runner. Therefore he allows the ball to pass thinking it may go foul and it proceeds to hit the runner on third base in the thigh. The ball hit him while it was fair.

What do you call? Please explain.
Is it a dead ball or delayed dead ball?
Is there interference? Why or Why Not?
Who is out? Please place runners

Have Fun and see you tonight!

Thursday, March 26, 2009

What's The Call Thursday!

Today's Post is brought to us by our very own Jon Payne.

One out and runners on 1st and 3rd.

Strike three swinging, the batter interferes with the catchers throw to 2nd and throw does not retire the runner. The runner from 3rd scores.

What happens now? What if there were also no outs prior to the strike out?

Thanks

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Uniform and equipment exchanges

Anyone who purchases new equipment or uniforms and wants to get rid of their old stuff by donating it to the association for distribution please contact the trainers or other members of the board.
thanks
tj

Sunday, March 22, 2009

Dead Ball?

This situation was brought to my attention from one of our first year umpires.

The situation came up during a game. It was his first plate game. The visiting team had a runner on third with a 3-0 count. The next pitch was a wild pitch that went to back stop. The batter-runner advances to first and the runner on third scores.

The coach on the home team comes arguing that the ball should be dead and the runner should go back to third. This was discussed between partners and they decided that the ball does not become dead unless it goes out of play on this situation. After the game to coach approached again very friendly and insisted that the ball is dead and no run scores.

I will comment below. These are the situations we should be discussing on the blog. Continue to send them to me or simply comment on a previous one and I will stick it in. Good job guys.

Thursday, March 19, 2009

What's The Call Thursday

Good Day all. Rookies hopefully you are taking a daily look at the page. If you are a 1st or second year please try to comment. This really is here for you.

Today's stitch: 1 Out. Runners on 2nd and 3rd. Fly ball hit deep to right center is caught. Both runners attempt to tag. However runner from second tags and leaves too early. The runner from 3rd scores and runner from second advances to 3rd. There is now 2 outs. Before the next pitch the defensive coach verbally appeals that the runner from 2nd left early. Therefore the runner is called out, making the 3rd out.

Question: Does the run from third still score? Why or why not? Also is it a timing play, and how?